The Day after Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving 2013_1Somehow I managed to wake up hungry the day after Thanksgiving. Even with a fridge full of leftovers, I still felt the need for a breakfast food so naturally I made zucchini muffins (there is still one more giant zucchini from my garden). Then I had a slice of chocolate pie because I didn’t get to fully appreciate it at the end giant meal that was Thanksgiving dinner. Then a slice pumpkin pie. Then I was stuffed again for the rest of the day.

It took all day to muster the energy for a run in the waning afternoon light (approximately 3:30 in Maine). I headed out for a brisk jaunt through the woods in the nearby park, the newly frozen ground crunching underfoot. Fueled by what must have been the average 5,000 calorie Thanksgiving dinner I kept adding just one more loop until 3 to 4 miles quickly turned into 6.5 miles. I had to work up an appetite for leftovers!

The Thanksgiving Day Menu (recipes to follow)…

Breakfast:
Popovers

Appetizer:
Nachos with Homemade Salsa and Guacamole

Dinner:
Apple Pablano Turkey
Delicata Squash and Coconut Soup
Bacon Sage Sweet Potatoes
Cranberry Sauce with Pecans
Apple and Sausage Stuffing
Sautéed Brussels Sprouts
Salad
Dinner Rolls

Dessert:
Chocolate Pie with Gingersnap Crust
Pumpkin Pie

3 thoughts on “The Day after Thanksgiving

  1. Your Thanksgiving looks and sounds absolutely delicious! I was not ambitious enough to make as many sides, but luckily celebrating it in the UK means you can cut things out without anyone being any wiser! X

Leave a comment